Opinion

Interview: Basic income should ‘focus on people’

Published by Anonymous (not verified) on Wed, 22/11/2017 - 5:00pm in

Portuguese basic income activist Miguel Horta is pushing for a basic income "for all." He believes people should control UBI, not the government.

The post Interview: Basic income should ‘focus on people’ appeared first on BIEN.

Basic Income Experiments—The Devil’s in the Caveats

Published by Anonymous (not verified) on Wed, 22/11/2017 - 7:50am in

Tags 

Opinion

The devil’s in the details is a common saying about policy proposals. Perhaps we need a similar saying for policy research, something like the devil’s in the caveats. By this, I mean that the evidence any particular piece of research can provide is only a small part of the evidence people need to fully evaluate policy proposals. Non-specialists involved in

The post Basic Income Experiments—The Devil’s in the Caveats appeared first on BIEN.

A Scrooge Christmas on the cards - weekly briefing

Published by Anonymous (not verified) on Mon, 20/11/2017 - 11:24pm in

Now is the time to turn the tables on the Victorian values embedded in our society, argues Lindsey German  

Not fit to govern

Published by Anonymous (not verified) on Fri, 17/11/2017 - 11:09pm in

We can't just wait for the government to implode. An insurgent Labour leadership at the head of the labour movement can bring real change now

AS THE UNITED STATES SLIDES INTO RECESSION (from 2001)

Published by Anonymous (not verified) on Thu, 16/11/2017 - 7:21am in

Tags 

Opinion

This essay was originally published in the USBIG NewsFlash in December 2001.   As I was putting this newsletter together, the National Bureau of Economic Research officially announced that the U.S. economy has been in recession since last March. The delay in the diagnosis is nothing unusual because a downturn is not considered a recession unless it lasts for a

The post AS THE UNITED STATES SLIDES INTO RECESSION (from 2001) appeared first on BIEN.

How and why I write

Published by Anonymous (not verified) on Tue, 14/11/2017 - 11:46pm in

The Trumpet of Sedition blog has been running a series of articles by historians on 'How I Write'. John Rees contributes

Universal Basic Income and the Duty to Work

Published by Anonymous (not verified) on Mon, 13/11/2017 - 9:02pm in

What should a government faced with an unmanageable level of unemployment do when conventional policy has failed to resolve the issue?

The post Universal Basic Income and the Duty to Work appeared first on BIEN.

Taking sides in the next major Middle East war - weekly briefing

Published by Anonymous (not verified) on Mon, 13/11/2017 - 8:18pm in

Anti-war activists are at the ready as imperial rumblings indicate a new phase for the region, writes Lindsey German

Sex, power, and money: parliament and politics - weekly briefing

Published by Anonymous (not verified) on Thu, 09/11/2017 - 1:35am in

How far will this challenge to male privilege be allowed to go, asks Lindsey German 

The Tories are falling apart, but we must act to push them out

Published by Anonymous (not verified) on Thu, 09/11/2017 - 1:10am in

To achieve a scenario where Theresa May poses the question ‘who rules?’ requires all of us to start moving

Pages