Marketing is Hard

Published by Matthew Davidson on Sun, 09/08/2020 - 10:25pm

This is cruel and unfair on the poor people who have to manage the picturesque suburban sprawl drainage ditch Bogan Bay, but as a lesson in how not to do things on the cheap, I must draw your attention to their "Things To Do At Boambee Creek Reserve - Image Gallery".

I stress, this is their context. "Things to do". I'm adding nothing to this; this is all their framing.

  • Here's a bridge:

    Great. Now what?
  • Bark chips! A king's ransom!

    You've never seen anything like it. Except, well, everywhere.
  • You can cultivate a splendid beer belly!
  • Admire some rust.

    Cook on it, if you dare!
  • Use a stick.
  • Think about all the friends you used to have.
  • Drop your car keys. Damn.
  • Watch the sad dog.
  • Oh look, there's that bridge again. Amidst all the grief and loss, I'd forgotten all about it.
  • Who is that lady? Is she following me? Is it because of… No! It can't be! That was years ago! I'm all better now!
  • Fecking bridge.
  • Leaving the car behind for a long, relaxing walk home.

    No boy, keep away from the black dog. We both have to keep away from the black dog of Bogan Bay.

Sunday, 26 July 2020 - 4:07pm

Published by Matthew Davidson on Sun, 26/07/2020 - 4:07pm in

This week, I have been mostly reading:

Sunday, 12 July 2020 - 4:23pm

Published by Matthew Davidson on Sun, 12/07/2020 - 4:23pm in

This week fortnight, I have been mostly reading:

Sunday, 5 July 2020 - 4:24pm

Published by Matthew Davidson on Sun, 05/07/2020 - 4:24pm in

This week, I have been mostly reading:

Sunday, 28 June 2020 - 1:43pm

Published by Matthew Davidson on Sun, 28/06/2020 - 1:43pm in

This week, I have been mostly reading:

Sunday, 21 June 2020 - 4:49pm

Published by Matthew Davidson on Sun, 21/06/2020 - 4:49pm in

This fortnight, I have been mostly reading:

Sunday, 7 June 2020 - 2:23pm

Published by Matthew Davidson on Sun, 07/06/2020 - 2:23pm in

This week, I have been mostly reading:

Sunday, 31 May 2020 - 2:21pm

Published by Matthew Davidson on Sun, 31/05/2020 - 2:21pm in

This week, I have been mostly reading:

Thursday, 28 May 2020 - 12:25pm

Published by Matthew Davidson on Thu, 28/05/2020 - 12:25pm in

From Richard Murphy:

[Have Domino's Pizza] discovered that people actually don't like that much choice and really don't want to wade through multitudinous, and often quite similar, choices? If I was Domino's I would be giving serious thought to this.

As a mover and shaker in retail (i.e. I push a trolley and suffer from essential tremor) for two and a half years now, I can say that expanding and contracting menus are probably tactical.

That is, in competitive conditions, one should pull out the shiny things to attract customers from your competitors. In [near-]monopoly conditions, the shiny things are just cannibalising the sales of your own core lines, so get rid of them.

Sunday, 24 May 2020 - 1:39pm

Published by Matthew Davidson on Sun, 24/05/2020 - 1:39pm in

This week, I have been mostly reading:

Pages